About Us

The Centers for Advanced Orthopaedics - Parkway Division in Hagerstown, Maryland was established in 1996 by Dr. Ralph Salvagno, who retired from surgical practice in May 2017,  and the late Dr. Tom Altizer. Both doctors had extensive experience in total joint replacement surgery in their previous practices and felt a strong desire to focus more fully on improving the quality of their patients’ lives through these procedures.

In 2001, Dr. Roberta Rothen joined the practice. She focuses on sports medicine and general orthopaedics.  Dr. Alvaro Cabezas, who has extensive experience in joint replacement surgery, joined the practice in 2013.  Most recently, in May 2017, the practice welcomed the addition of Dr. Thomas Amalfitano, Dr. Richard Milford, and Dr. Michael Stowell.  As well as a focus in sports medicine and general orthopaedics, Dr. Amalfitano brings additional experience in joint replacement surgery.  Dr. Miford and Dr. Stowell, both board certified in orthopaedic surgery with a sub-specialty in hand surgery, treat a variety of orthopaedic issues with an emphasis on the treatment of the upper extremity.

We also have an excellent professional staff that offers a team approach. Our nurse practitioner, physician assistants, and physical therapy team will work with you to create a treatment plan that maximizes function and helps you heal as quickly as possible.

In order to better serve our patients, the Centers for Advanced Orthopaedics - Parkway Division has joined The Centers for Advanced Orthopaedics (CAO). As a member of The CAO, we are able to bring our community a higher standard of excellence in patient care by sharing best practices and collaborating with over 25 other orthopaedic offices across the Maryland, Washington D.C., and Northern Virginia area.

Learn more about The Centers for Advanced Orthopaedics.

Dr. Tom Altizer Memorial Scholarship

Each year, the Centers for Advanced Orthopaedics - Parkway Division gives two $1000 scholarship awards to two deserving local high school seniors who plan to continue their education at an accredited institution. The applicant must be a senior in Washington County at either a private or public school and show academic achievement by having a 3.0 grade point average or higher. The applicant must also demonstrate community and/or school involvement, such as volunteer activities, clubs, sports, etc.

Please visit our In The News page to access the scholarship application.

Past Scholarship Recipients:

  • 2016 – Samantha Juedemann and Zachary Toth
  • 2015 – Ashley Ashford and Megan Mikulsky
  • 2014 – Cora Cozia and Taylor Lipinski
  • 2013 – John Britton III and Natalie Rudisill
  • 2012 – Tracy Forcino and Brittany McFadden
  • 2011 – Sally Johnston and Daniel Ridenour
  • 2010 – Lenzie Weicht and Tiffany Arnett
  • 2009 – Catherine Hess and Kelso Jo Phillips
  • 2008 – Aaron Mills and Kayla Barnes
  • 2007 – Holly Kays and Laura Jacques

Local Sponsorships

About Us

The Centers for Advanced Orthopaedics - Parkway Division proudly sponsors area youth sports teams as well as the athletic booster programs in Washington County high schools. As a member of the community in which we live and work, the Centers for Advanced Orthopaedics - Parkway Division actively engages in local charitable and philanthropic causes that help to promote a healthy and active lifestyle.